Device Management Privileges

For devices operating the Access Management System, the display and operation of the following screens related to device management are restricted according to the role associated with the user.
imageRUNNER ADVANCE devices
[Status Monitor/Cancel] screen
[Settings/Registration] screen
IMPORTANT
For devices using the AMS, only users who have been assigned the [Administrator]/[DeviceAdmin]/[NetworkAdmin] role (or a custom role with the same settings as this role) have device management privileges to access the screen for managing the device from the remote UI. The operations possible when using the control panel to manage the device are indicated below.
Restrictions on the [Status Monitor/Cancel] Screen (imageRUNNER ADVANCE Devices)
The [Status Monitor/Cancel] screen is displayed when you press (Status Monitor/Cancel) on the touch panel display of the device. When operating the Access Management System, the device status can be checked on the [Status Monitor/Cancel] screen without logging in to the device, but the copy and send/receive status cannot be checked.
NOTE
For more information on the [Status Monitor/Cancel] screen, see the instruction manuals of the device.
When a user with device management privileges (a user associated with the [Administrator] role or associated with a custom role based on the [Administrator] role, including the [DeviceAdmin] and [NetworkAdmin] roles) logs in, they can view/operate the job status and history.
When a user without device management privileges logs in, they can view/operate the status and logs of their own jobs, but the following restrictions are applied to jobs of other users.
[Status Monitor/Cancel] screen
Users with device management privileges
Users without device management privileges
[Copy/Print]
[Job Status]
[Print]
[Print Next]
Available
Unavailable
[Details]
[Stop]
[Secured Print]
Names of jobs
Displayed
Displayed as "***"
[Copy]
[Details]
Available
Unavailable
[Stop]
[Send]
[Job Status]
[Send]
[Details]
Available
Unavailable
[Stop]
Destinations
Displayed
Displayed as "***"
[Fax]
[Details]
Available
Unavailable
[Stop]
Destinations
Displayed
Displayed as "***"
[Receive]
[Job Status]
[Forward]
[Details]
Available
Unavailable
[Check I-Fax RX]
[Fax]
[Details]
[Stop]
[Store]
[Job Status]
-
[Details]
Available
Unavailable
[Stop]
Destinations
Displayed
Displayed as "***"
Other keys
Available
Available
Other displayed items
Displayed
Displayed
Restrictions on the [Settings/Registration] Screen (imageRUNNER ADVANCE Devices)
The [Settings/Registration] screen is displayed when (Settings/Registration) is pressed on the device. When operating the Access Management System, the [Settings/Registration] screen is restricted according to the role associated with the user, as indicated below.
IMPORTANT
If you use User Authentication as the login application when the AMS is not used, the [Settings/Registration] screen is restricted for general users (users set with a role other than [Administrator]/[DeviceAdmin]/[NetworkAdmin]). Even for administrator users, the [Settings/Registration] screen is restricted according to the device management privileges ([DeviceAdmin]/[NetworkAdmin]). (For more information, see the instruction manuals of the device.)
When the AMS is used, the restrictions below are applied in addition to the restrictions applied when the AMS is not used.
For users associated with the [PowerUser]/[GeneralUser]/[LimitedUser]/[GuestUser] role, the following restrictions are applied, in addition to the screens restricted for general users when the AMS is not used:
[Settings/Registration] screen
[Administrator]*1
[DeviceAdmin]*1
[NetworkAdmin]*1
[PowerUser]*1
/[GeneralUser]*1
[LimitedUser]*1
/[GuestUser]*1
[Function Settings]
[Copy]
[Register Remote Device for Cascade Copy]
Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable
[Send]
[Output Report]
Available
[Common Settings]
[Limit New Destinations]*2
Unavailable
[Allow Sending with Expired Certificate]
[Always Add Device Signature to Send]*3
[Limit E-Mail to Send to Myself]*5
[Restrict File TX to Personal Folder]*5
[Store/Access Files]
[Memory Media Settings]
[Use Scan/Print Function]*5
[Set Destination]
[Address Book PIN]*4
*1: Includes custom roles based on these roles. However, the settings for the custom roles may be different from the base role to create the roles, depending on the settings for device function restrictions.
*2: Can be restricted for each user in the [Send to New Addresses] restricted item inside the role.
*3: Can be restricted for each user in the [Add Device Signature to Sending Files] restricted item inside the role.
*4: Address book usage can be restricted for each user in the [Use Address Book/Register Storage Location for Network] restricted item inside the role.
*5: Depending on the model of the device, this item may not be displayed.
IMPORTANT
When functions on the [Settings/Registration] screen are restricted, shortcuts to those functions cannot be used.
If the Scan function is restricted in the [Scan] restricted item inside a role, [Function Settings] → [Common] → [Print Settings] → [Register Form] cannot be used.
If address book usage is set to [Not Allowed] in the [Use Address Book/Register Storage Location for Network] restricted item inside a role, [Set Destination] → [Address Lists]/[Register Destinations]/[Rename Address List]/[Register One-Touch]/[Change Default Display of Address Book] cannot be used.
If address book usage is set to [Read-Only], [Set Destination] → [Register Destinations]/[Rename Address List]/[Register One-Touch]/[Change Default Display of Address Book] cannot be used.